The Big Blush

Watching others embarrass themselves is painful.  I could not even stand to watch “I Love Lucy” reruns when I was growing up.  I will still fast forward through scenes in movies that include emotional embarrassment of a main character.  I am trying to think of what it is exactly that embarrasses me.  

In some ways, I have structured my life to avoid feeling embarrassed.  I like knowing all of the information, all of the rules, and all of issues going into a situation so I am never caught off guard.  I always have an excuse, even for other people.  

I worry that this will affect my writing.  What if I never put any characters into embarrassing situations?  Life is awkward and embarrassing sometimes.  My stories might lack passion.

Leave a Reply

